War / Africa — Somali soldiers killed al Shabaab fighters in their dozens in the battle around Buurhakaba, the Defence Ministry says. Two soldiers who helped carry the army’s own dead to Mogadishu told Reuters the price was dozens of Somali soldiers killed and more than 100 wounded. Neither side’s toll is independently verified, and the two accounts diverge sharply.
Track it live: Africa wars live tracker

Dozens of Somali soldiers were killed in a major battle with al Shabaab in southern Somalia, two soldiers told Reuters — a fight in which, the Defence Ministry says, Somali soldiers killed al Shabaab fighters in far greater numbers: about 75 militants killed and another 56 wounded. The fighting took place in the Jameeco area — also spelled Jameeca — of Buurhakaba district in the Bay region, and Dawan Africa dates the clashes to Monday, October 26. The soldiers’ account and the ministry’s statement describe the same hours of combat from opposite ends of the casualty ledger. As of Tuesday, neither toll had been independently verified, and Signal Post News presents each figure strictly as the claim of the side that issued it.
What happened in Jameeco
The battle grew out of an army offensive. In a joint statement, the Ministry of Defence and the Somali National Army (SNA) command said government forces fought al Shabaab at several locations over several hours as part of the ongoing Operation Banooda, the military campaign targeting al Shabaab positions in southern Somalia. Dawan Africa, reporting the same statement, said the SNA launched an assault on al Shabaab positions in the Jameeca area on October 26, and that the ministry said the operation would continue, with troops targeting the positions and locations the group uses to organise its fighters. Buurhakaba sits in the Bay region on the corridor between Mogadishu and Baidoa, the South West State capital — ground the army has to hold if the road between the two cities is to stay open.
On the ministry’s account, the fighting turned on explosives. The ministry said al Shabaab militants attacked army positions using vehicles packed with explosives, and that some army vehicles were damaged in the fighting. It did not say how many vehicles were hit, and it gave no account of how the engagements at the several locations unfolded in sequence. What the statement described, in other words, was the opening method of the battle — vehicle-borne bombs against army positions — and its claimed result. The detail of what happened between those two points comes, so far, only from the two soldiers who spoke to Reuters.
The soldiers’ account: 40 dead carried to Mogadishu
A soldier who gave his name as Ahmed told Reuters he had helped transport 40 dead soldiers and more than 100 wounded to hospitals in the capital, Mogadishu. That single sentence is the most concrete evidence yet published about the army’s losses: not an estimate offered from a distance, but a count attached to a specific task — moving bodies and casualties from the battlefield to the capital’s hospitals. If Ahmed’s account is accurate, the wounded alone would have arrived in Mogadishu in numbers large enough to strain the hospitals receiving them, and the dead would make Buurhakaba one of the costliest single engagements the SNA has fought this year.
A second soldier, who gave his name as Farah, told Reuters that al Shabaab car bombs had ruined five military vehicles, and he estimated that dozens of soldiers were killed in the explosions. Farah’s account aligns with the ministry’s on the method — both describe vehicles packed with explosives used against the army — while going well beyond it on the consequences: five vehicles ruined, in his telling, against the ministry’s acknowledgment that some vehicles were damaged. The two soldiers’ estimates also align with each other on the central point: that the army’s dead numbered in the dozens, not in single figures. Reuters reported the soldiers’ accounts from Mogadishu on Tuesday, in reporting by Abdi Sheikh. Neither soldier’s full identity was published, which is common for serving personnel speaking to the press about casualties their command has not announced, and which also means their accounts cannot be weighed against a service record or a unit’s own reporting.
The ministry’s account: 75 militants killed, and no army toll
Against the soldiers’ account stands the official one. The Defence Ministry and the SNA command said government forces killed about 75 al Shabaab militants and wounded 56 more in the fighting, inflicting what the statement called heavy losses across several locations over several hours. The ministry said the Banooda operation would continue. It is a precise pair of numbers — 75 killed, 56 wounded — of a kind that implies a battlefield count, and the statement presented them as the outcome of an offensive the army itself had launched against al Shabaab positions in the area.
What the statement did not contain is equally specific. It gave no figures at all for Somali soldiers killed or wounded — not a toll, not an acknowledgment that there were army casualties, nothing. Dawan Africa noted the omission directly: the statement did not disclose whether government soldiers were killed or wounded during the fighting, nor provide details of the damage to military vehicles beyond the acknowledgment that some were damaged. And Dawan stated plainly that it could not independently verify the government’s reported al Shabaab casualty figures, and that no independent information was available to confirm the outcome of the fighting. The ministry’s 75 and 56 therefore stand, for now, as a claim by one belligerent about the losses of the other.
What the numbers actually say
Set side by side, the two ledgers look like this. The ministry says: 75 al Shabaab fighters killed and 56 wounded, some army vehicles damaged, and nothing about army casualties. The two soldiers say: dozens of soldiers killed, 40 bodies and more than 100 wounded carried to Mogadishu, and five military vehicles ruined by car bombs. The accounts are not strictly irreconcilable — a battle can be both an offensive success and an army bloodletting, and heavy losses on both sides are entirely possible in hours of fighting opened by vehicle bombs. But they diverge sharply in what they choose to count, and the divergence is itself information. Each side has published the other side’s losses and omitted its own.
The honest position, and the one this article takes, is that neither side’s toll is independently verified. The ministry’s figures come from the institution conducting the operation, with an institutional interest in the operation’s success. The soldiers’ figures come from two unnamed-in-full servicemen speaking to a news agency, with no corroborating hospital, funeral or official count yet published. Ahmed’s 40 has the texture of a witnessed count; Farah’s “dozens” is an estimate; the ministry’s 75 and 56 carry an unexplained precision. None of that makes any of the numbers false. It makes them claims — of differing kinds and differing evidentiary weight — awaiting the corroboration that has not yet arrived: a hospital tally in Mogadishu, a statement from the African Union mission, funerals, imagery from the Jameeco area, or an official SNA toll that either confirms the soldiers’ account or replaces it.
Why the claims diverge
Duelling casualty claims are a structural feature of this war, not an accident of this battle. Al Shabaab has spent nearly two decades fighting for information control as well as territory, and it typically issues its own account of major engagements through its media channels; no such claim featured in the reporting available on Tuesday. The government, for its part, is asking Somalis and international partners to sustain a long offensive, and offensive momentum is easier to sustain on ministry numbers than on hospital ones. Readers should therefore hold the Buurhakaba figures at exactly the strength their sourcing gives them: the battle happened, it was major, it involved vehicle-borne explosives against army positions, and men on the army’s own side say the army bled heavily. Everything beyond that is contested.
Why this matters
The first reason is scale. Forty dead soldiers in one engagement, if Ahmed’s account holds, would rank among the Somali National Army’s deadliest single battles of the year — the kind of loss that removes a company’s worth of trained men at a stroke, in an army whose scarcest resource is exactly that: trained, cohesive units. Somalia’s international partners have spent years building the SNA into a force that can hold ground al Shabaab contests. A single battle that kills dozens of its soldiers and wounds more than a hundred tests not just a unit but the pipeline behind it.
The second reason is method. On both accounts, the battle was shaped by vehicles packed with explosives driven against army positions. Farah’s five ruined vehicles and the ministry’s damaged ones describe the same vulnerability from opposite ends: forward army positions in the Bay region remain reachable by the oldest and deadliest weapon in al Shabaab’s arsenal. Every offensive like Banooda pushes SNA units into ground where they must be supplied, relieved and protected along exposed roads. Whether the Jameeco positions had the barriers, standoff distance and local warning that vehicle-borne attacks demand is a question the ministry’s statement does not answer, and it is now the most operationally important question the battle raises.
The third reason is what the battle says about al Shabaab’s retained capacity in Bay. Operation Banooda exists to weaken the group, destroy its positions and stop it regrouping. A force being dismantled does not usually mount multi-location, hours-long fights opened with coordinated vehicle bombs against an army offensive. Whatever the true casualty figures, the engagement itself demonstrates that al Shabaab in the Bay region can still concentrate fighters, explosives and vehicles against the army’s chosen ground. That capacity is the wider regional problem Signal Post News has tracked as the group’s external ties deepen — the subject of our report on the US warning over Houthi–al-Shabaab ties and the Red Sea corridor. And the strain lands on civilians and capitals, not only on battlefields: more than 100 wounded arriving in Mogadishu, on Ahmed’s account, is a hospital story as much as a military one, in a country where the same week’s violence across the Horn — from Sudan’s drone war to the attacks on Orthodox Christians in Ethiopia’s Arsi Zone, covered in our reporting on the Arsi attacks — keeps outpacing the institutions meant to absorb it.
Background: Buurhakaba, the Bay region and a nearly two-decade insurgency
Somalia has endured conflict and clan fighting with no strong central government since the fall of the autocratic ruler Mohamed Siad Barre in 1991. The state that has been rebuilt since — a federal government in Mogadishu, member states such as South West State, and an army still being built with outside help — governs a country where al Shabaab controls or contests much of the rural south and centre, taxes movement and trade, and attacks the institutions of the state wherever they present themselves. The group has waged its insurgency for nearly two decades, seeking to establish its own rule based on its strict interpretation of Sharia law, and it has survived the loss of cities, the death of leaders and years of offensives without losing the ability to strike.
A corridor district on the Mogadishu–Baidoa road
Buurhakaba’s significance is geographic. The district sits in the Bay region astride the road from Mogadishu to Baidoa, the South West State capital — one of the main land corridors of southern Somalia, along which food, goods, officials and soldiers move. An army that cannot secure the corridor cannot project the state into the southwest; a militant group that can ambush, bomb and tax along it retains leverage over a whole region without holding a single major town. That is why a place like Jameeco, a locality most maps barely mark, can host one of the year’s biggest battles: the fighting is for the road, and for who decides what moves on it.
The SNA does not fight alone. It operates with African Union support — the AU mission now in its AUSSOM form, the latest in a line of missions that have held ground alongside Somali forces for years — and with international training partners who have built specialised units such as the Danab special forces. That support is part of the arithmetic of battles like Buurhakaba: the army’s growing capability is real, and so is its dependence. The question hanging over Operation Banooda, and over every offensive the SNA launches in the south, is whether Somali forces can keep taking and holding contested ground as outside support is drawn down — and what the casualty bill, honestly counted, will be while they learn.
What happens next
Four things will settle what Buurhakaba was. The first is an official SNA toll: the ministry has so far published the enemy’s casualties and none of its own, and every day that gap persists, the soldiers’ account to Reuters stands as the only army-side count in public. A ministry figure, when it comes, will either corroborate the scale Ahmed described or contest it — and if it contests it, the ministry will need to explain the convoys to Mogadishu’s hospitals. The second is a word from the African Union’s AUSSOM mission or Somalia’s international partners, whose silence or comment will signal how the battle is being read by the people who train and supply the SNA. The third is al Shabaab’s own claim, which its media apparatus usually issues after major engagements and which will present a third ledger, to be weighed with the same scepticism as the other two. The fourth is the operation itself: whether Banooda continues at its present tempo in the Bay region, or whether Jameeco slows it.
There is also a quieter count to watch, in Mogadishu. More than 100 wounded, on a soldier’s account, do not disappear into a capital anonymously: they arrive at named hospitals, they are visited, their funerals and recoveries are community events. If the army’s losses were as Ahmed and Farah described, the evidence will accumulate in the city over the coming days regardless of what any statement says. If they were not, the correction will come from the same places. Either way, Buurhakaba has already made its central point: in Somalia’s war, the battle over what happened is fought as hard as the battle itself, and on Tuesday the two sides’ versions of October 26 remained, in every particular that matters, unreconciled.
Related coverage: US Warns Houthi-Al-Shabaab Axis Threatens Red Sea Trade Corridor · Ethiopia Orthodox Christians Killed in Arsi Attacks Rise to 60, Church's Holy Synod Confirms · Sudan Nyala Market Drone Strike Kills 21 as the Drone War Deepens Over Darfur
Sources
- Reuters, “Dozens of Somali soldiers killed in battle with al Shabaab, soldiers say,” Oct 27, 2026 (reporting by Abdi Sheikh, Mogadishu) — two soldiers said dozens of Somali soldiers were killed in a major battle with al Shabaab in southern Somalia; a soldier named Ahmed said he helped transport 40 dead soldiers and more than 100 wounded to hospitals in Mogadishu; a soldier named Farah said al Shabaab car bombs ruined five military vehicles and estimated dozens of soldiers were killed; the Defence Ministry said about 75 militants were killed and 56 wounded in the Jameeco area of Buurhakaba district, that militants attacked with vehicles packed with explosives damaging some army vehicles, and gave no Somali casualty figures: reuters.com.
- Dawan Africa, “Somalia Says 75 Al-Shabaab Fighters Killed in Bay Region Clash,” Oct 27, 2026 — the Ministry of Defence and SNA Command said the army killed nearly 75 al Shabaab fighters and wounded 56 in clashes on October 26 in Buurhakaba district’s Jameeca area, in fighting at several locations over several hours as part of the ongoing Operation Banooda; the statement did not disclose whether government soldiers were killed or wounded; Dawan could not independently verify the government’s reported al Shabaab casualty figures: dawan.africa.